THE FAST FRAME UK Walesby Lane Ollerton Newark NG22 9UT


Ollerton has a long history of local football going back to the late 1800s. One of its best periods was immediately before the Second World War when Ollerton Colliery won the Notts Senior Cup in 1937/38 and its reserve team won the Notts Intermediate Cup the year previous.

In 1930, a side called Ollerton Forest defeated Welbeck Athletic 3–0 in the North Notts Senior Cup final at Mansfield Town's Field Mill stadium. This is believed to be the first competitive football game in England to be played under floodlights and more can be read about it here.

Ollerton Colliery ceased as a football club in the early 1980s but was reformed as Ollerton & Bevercotes F.C in 1988. The club won the Nottinghamshire Football Alliance Division Two championship in 1992–93, gaining promotion to Division One under the management of Adge Owen and David Kent.

Following the closure of the colliery in 1994, the club changed its name to Ollerton Town F.C. In the same year, Ollerton were champions of Division One in 1995–96 and were promoted to the top division of the Notts Alliance. After finishing runners-up in 1999–2000, the club was promoted to the Central Midlands League[1] and entered the English Football Pyramid.

In the 2007–08 season, Ollerton, under the management of Don Gethfield, David Kent and Anthony Thompson, the club won the Central Midlands Premier Division, earning promotion to the Supreme Division. That season they also reached the Nottinghamshire Senior Cup final where they were beaten 2–0 by Eastwood Town.

In 2008–09, the club took part in the FA Vase for the first time, getting to the second round proper in 2009–10.[1]

After the resignation of Don Gethfield back in 2011, and a brief stint under Paul Rawden, the club appointed Dave Winter and Stephen Bodle as first team managers. The pair guided the club to the Central Midlands Floodlit Cup final in their first season.

For the 2011–12 season, the club was placed in the Central Midlands North Division following a league restructure.

In the 2015–16 season, with former-captain Jamie Allan now also on board as first team coach, the club secured promotion to the Northern Counties East League after finishing runners-up in the Central Midlands North Division.

After several seasons in the NCEL Division One, Ollerton Town were moved laterally into the East Midlands Counties League for the start of the 2020-2021 Season.

Full League History
Season League Placing
1988-1989 Mansfield Bitter League N/A
1989-1990 Mansfield Bitter League N/A
1990-1991 Notts Alliance Division Two 5th
1991-1992 Notts Alliance Division Two 3rd
1992-1993 Notts Alliance Division Two 1st
1993-1994 Notts Alliance Division One 5th
1994-1995 Notts Alliance Division One 9th
1995-1996 Notts Alliance Division One 1st
1996-1997 Notts Alliance Senior Division 14th
1997-1998 Notts Alliance Senior Division 10th
1998-1999 Notts Alliance Senior Division 11th
1999-2000 Notts Alliance Senior Division 2nd
2000-2001 Central Midlands Premier Division 11th
2001-2002 Central Midlands Premier Division 11th
2002-2003 Central Midlands Premier Division 6th
2003-2004 Central Midlands Premier Division 8th
2004-2005 Central Midlands Premier Division 10th
2005-2006 Central Midlands Premier Division 10th
2006-2007 Central Midlands Premier Division 13th
2007-2008 Central Midlands Premier Division 1st
2008-2009 Central Midlands Supreme Division 4th
2009-2010 Central Midlands Supreme Division 3rd
2010-2011 Central Midlands Supreme Division 13th
2011-2012 Central Midlands Supreme Division 7th
2012-2013 Central Midlands Supreme Division 6th
2013-2014 Central Midlands North Division 8th
2014-2015 Central Midlands North Division 10th
2015-2016 Central Midlands North Division 2nd
2016-2017 Northern Counties East League Division One 17th
2017-2018 Northern Counties East League Division One 15th
2018-2019 Northern Counties East League Division One 16th
2019-2020 Northern Counties East League Division One Voided
2020-2021 East Midlands Counties League TBC

The club's ground is situated on Walesby Lane in Ollerton. Previously referred to as "The Lane", in 2018, the club announced a sponsorship deal with Nottinghamshire company FastFrameUK which saw the window and door retailer secure the naming rights of the ground,

The ground was previously shared with Ollerton Cricket Club up until the start of the 2018-2019 season when the cricket club sadly folded.

There is a small pavilion playing host to the changing rooms for both teams where post-match hospitality also occurs.

The pitch itself is floodlit and has two large stands running down two ends to provide cover for spectators. The two sides of the pitch with stands also have hard standing in keeping with the ground grading required for Step 6 football.

A small porta-cabin behind the pitch offers refreshments for visiting spectators with a variety of drinks and snacks on offer.

One side of the pitch backs on to a row of near-by houses and it is on this side where two large, brick built dug outs have been constructed with seats in to keep the players and management dry. Each dug-out could easily hold around 8 players/staff.

Ollerton Town have won three league championships:[1][2]

Central Midlands League North Division
Runners-up 2015–2016
Central Midlands League Floodlit Cup
Runners-up 2011–2012
Central Midlands League Premier Division
Champions 2007–08
Nottinghamshire Senior Cup
Runners-up 2007–2008
Central Midlands League League Cup
Runners-up 2006–2007
Notts Alliance
Runners-up 1999–2000
Notts Alliance Division One
Champions 1995–96
Notts Alliance Division Two
Champions 1992–93

Latest Results

Sat 26 Dec
0 – 4 W
Sat 19 Dec
4 – 2 W
Sat 12 Dec
0 – 0 D

East Midlands Counties League | newsletter

Keep up-to-date with our exclusive email newsletters.